How to strengthen monitoring of the snow leopard in the Shakhristan district

Seminars | 12 сен. 2018

Training the staff of wildlife sanctuary and the public rangers in the Shakhristan district helped to increase the knowledge of participants about the snow leopard and improve their skills in monitoring wildlife and its inhabitants.

36 people were involved in the four-day training, including experienced staff of the specially protected nature area of Shakhristan and public activists, who are planned to be involved in order to increase contribution of local communities in wildlife protection. The training was organized as part of the UNDP-GEF project on the snow leopard ecosystems conservation in cooperation with local partners.

The training program provided for a theoretical part, during which experts told about direction and approaches to implement the snow leopard conservation initiative in key habitats of this predator, emphasizing one of the important aspects - strengthening capacity in wildlife monitoring. The main goal and accompanying monitoring tasks, successful approaches, previously implemented in other countries, new practical and technological methods in monitoring and wild animals accounting were also presented.

In practical part, the participants were divided into working groups, with task to develop a schematic map of the protected area, indicating the local animal species and their approximate habitat. Results were presented by the participants, they also talked about used methodology for monitoring and accounting local animals in controlled areas.

According to rangers, a presence of the snow leopard on the territory of Shakhristan at altitudes of 2000 - 3000 m was observed several times during 2014-2015.

In the following days, the project specialists demonstrated various models of photo-traps and GPS navigators, giving details about their functionality and usage features. To consolidate the information, practical classes were organized in the fields for the test photo traps setting in the nearest territories, where participants actively displayed the knowledge gained at the training.

 

Share on

Publications

  • Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (April - June 2018)
  • Snow leopard conservation on the Pamir
  • Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (Jan.-Mar. 2018)
Publications archive

"Snow leopard - national treasure of Tajikistan"

The author tried to comprehensively explain a value of the snow leopard for both wildlife and people. The brochure describes biological and behavioral characteristics of a rare predator, its habitats, main factors threatening its population, international and national initiatives to preserve it, legends and real cases of snow leopard and villagers meetings in the Pamir and more. According to the author, he sought to change the image of a rare predator in the eyes of an audience that has a negative attitude towards the snow leopard, or knows very little about it, in order to understand how important it is for wildlife.

The full text you can find out contacting us via e-mail: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

 

Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (April - June 2018)

Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (April - June 2018)

The actions implemented by the project over the past quarter have made it possible to achieve significant results in improving the technical capabilities of specially protected areas’ staff and their skills in monitoring, to prepare a rationale for initiating practical actions to restore degraded pastures and forests, to increase to some extent the knowledge of local communities about the snow leopard and cause interest in its preservation, to form communication and the basis for cross-border cooperation.

For the full version, please send a request on the e-mail: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

Snow leopard conservation on the Pamir

Snow leopard conservation on the Pamir

The brochure contains the project summary and the results of working meetings with representatives of target partner organizations in GBAO project areas, describes decisions and recommendations received.

For the full version, please send a request on the e-mail: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (Jan.-Mar. 2018)

Newsletter on snow leopard conservation initiative in Tajikistan (Jan.-Mar. 2018)

You can find out the full version of the Newsletter by sending a request to biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com  

Video

Как усилить мониторинг за снежным барсом в заказнике Шахристанского района

Семинары | 30 ноя. 2018

Тренинг для сотрудников заказника и общественных егерей в Шахристанском районе помог повысить знания участников о снежном барсе и улучшить навыки в проведении мониторинга дикой природы и его обитателей.

К участию в четырехдневном тренинге были привлечены 36 человек, в число которых вошли опытные сотрудники особоохраняемой природной территории Шахристанского района и общественные активисты, которых планируется привлечь с целью повышения роли местных общин в охране дикой природы. Обучающее мероприятие было организовано в рамках проекта ПРООН-ГЭФ по сохранению экосистем снежного барса в сотрудничестве с проектными партнерами.

Программа тренинга предусматривала теоретическую часть, в ходе которой эксперты рассказали о направленности и подходах реализации инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в ключевых местах обитания этого хищника, подчеркнув при этом один из важных аспектов – усиление потенциала в проведении мониторинга. Основная цель и сопутствующие задачи мониторинга, успешные подходы, раннее реализованные  в других странах, новые практические и технологические методы в проведении мониторинга и учета диких животных были представлены участникам тренинга.

В практической части участников разделили на рабочие группы, предоставив время для разработки схематической карты охраняемой местности с указанием местных видов животных и их примерным ареалом. Результаты были презентованы самими участниками, в ходе презентации они также рассказали о методологии проведения мониторинга и учета местных животных на подконтрольных территориях.

По словам егерей, на территории Шахристана несколько раз наблюдали присутствие снежного барса на высотах 2000 – 3000 м в 2014-2015 гг.

В последующие дни тренинга специалисты проекта продемонстрировали фотоловушки различных моделей и GPS навигаторы, подробно рассказав об их функциональности и особенностях использования. Для закрепления информации были организованы практические занятия в полях по тестовой установке фотоловушек на ближайших территориях, где участники активно проявили полученные на тренинге  знания.

 

Поделиться

Публикации

  • Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (апрель - июль 2018 г.)
  • Сохранение снежного барса на Памире
  • Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (январь-март 2018 г.)
Архив публикаций

"Снежный барс - национальная гордость Таджикистана"

Автор брошюры, старший научный сотрудник Института гуманитарных наук Академии наук РТ кандидат исторических наук Курбон Аламшоев, постарался всесторонне осветить тему ценности снежного барса как для дикой природы, так и для людей. В брошюре рассказывается о биологических и поведенческих особенностях редкого хищника, о местах его обитания,  основных факторах, угрожающих его популяции, международных и национальных инициативах по его сохранению, приводятся легенды и реальные случаи встреч снежного барса и местных жителей на Памире и другое. По словам автора, он стремился изменить образ редкого хищника в глазах аудитории, которая негативно относится к снежному барсу или же очень мало знает о нем, для того чтобы понимать насколько  он важен для дикой природы. 

С полным текстом брошюры вы можете ознакомиться, отправив нам запрос на эл. адрес: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (апрель - июль 2018 г.)

Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (апрель - июль 2018 г.)

Действия, реализованные проектом за прошедший квартал, позволили достичь значительных результатов в улучшении технических возможностей персонала особо охраняемых территорий и их навыков в проведении мониторинга, подготовить обосновательную часть для начала практических действий по восстановлению деградированных пастбищ и лесов, повысить в определенной степени знания местных общин о  снежном барсе и вызвать интерес к вопросу о его сохранении,  сформировать коммуникацию и основу для трансграничного сотрудничества.

Для получения полной версии брошюры, пожалуйста, отправьте запрос на эл. адрес: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

 

Сохранение снежного барса на Памире

Сохранение снежного барса на Памире

В подготовленной публикации представлено общее резюме проекта и результаты проведенных рабочих встреч с представителями целевых партнерских организаций в проектных территориях ГБАО, описаны принятые решения и полученные рекомендации. Также в публикацию вошли описания и данные по полевым поездкам.

Для получения полной версии брошюры, пожалуйста, отправьте запрос на эл. адрес: biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (январь-март 2018 г.)

Информационный бюллетень по результатам инициативы по сохранению снежного барса в Таджикистане (январь-март 2018 г.)

С полной версией бюллетеня вы можете ознакомиться, отправив запрос по адресу biodiv@biodiv.tojikiston.com

  

Видео